Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This morning, while engaged in a conversation on Twitter with @RWongPhoto & @chuq regarding re-processing images, I started thinking about this and I thought I would talk a little about my thoughts:

As photographers, we are in a constant state of activity, trying to get that perfect image from some magical location.

Here is a hypothetical (or real, depending on your view of your body of work) situation:  You have been going to a particular location to create that one absolutely amazing, perfect image.  After a few attempts, you finally manage to be at the location and everything comes together.

Now the question comes up, do you continue to return to that location to try and improve on your perfect image?

Here are some examples of a location that, while probably over-photographed, is one that I keep returning to, perhaps not the same time every year, but certainly fairly regularly.

August 29, 2012

Sunrise on the Bells II

September 24, 2012

Sunrise at Maroon Lake

July 21, 2013

Pink Bells

September 21, 2014

Spectacular Bells Sunrise!

As I look at the images, my gut sense is that the first and second images, from 2012 were the best creations so far.  The second is one I use for one of my business cards as I really was a magical morning.  But, I still lust for that one shot, that one day when I have all the components come together.

Do you return to the same location over and over again, even after you have created that one super magical image?  If so, what are your motivations to return?  What elements are you looking for to make the image be “the one?!”

